The CommonWealth

The CommonWealth, originally known as the British CommonWealth is an intergovernmental organization of 53 member states. It first originated during the decolonization of the british empire which occurred in the mid-twentieth century.  It was started by the London Declaration  in the year 1949, in which established the state members as “free and equal”. Members of the CommonWealth were not forced to form an alliance or anything of the sort; however, they do united through language, share the same democratic laws and rights. Ultimately , the CommonWealth is suppose to connect us all together and have different states and cities around the world to at least cooperate with each other; yet, within the case of the Komagata Maru, where people traveled from India, Japan, and China were not allowed into Vancouver, it made me wonder: what is the CommonWealth doing in this situation?

The logo of the Commonwealth



Posted on April 26, 2014, in Multiculturalism. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: